top of page

55th Annual Tuscarora 50 Takes Center Stage at Port Royal Speedway

From Justin Snyder & Port Royal Speedway

Port Royal Speedway – PORT ROYAL, Penn (September 7, 2022) – All eyes will be on the Port Royal Speedway this weekend as the best drivers from across the country will gather to help close out the 168th Annual Juniata County Fair with the 55th running of the Tuscarora 50, Sept 8-10.

Sanctioned by the Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1, the annual spectacle is one of the most highly anticipated events in all the Sprint Car world and this year it’s only gotten bigger.

Sponsored by Packer's Concessions, LLC.. and Ramsey’s Car Wash & Garage, Saturdays finale will pay a whopping $55,000 to the winner and $2000 to start. Including C-Main, B-Main, a non-qualifiers feature and A-Main payouts, the one-day purse currently sits at more than $155,000, which is the largest ever offered in the history of ‘The Speed Palace’. The entire three-day payout for all events tops $230,000.

The three-race weekend kicks off Thursday with a regular All Star sanctioned event

presented by Tedd Reitz paying $8000 to win. Also on the card will be the PennsValley MeatMarket PA Sprint Series 305 Sprint Cars.

Garrett Bard is the current points leader in the 305 division, and he also leads the division in wins for the 2021 season with three. He won in the series last visit to the Speedway on August 6th and holds a 115-point advantage over Doug Dodson in the standings. Ken Duke (-200), Austin Reed (-220) and Mike Alleman (-285) round out the rest of the top five.

Friday’s Night Before the 50 presented by Tedd Reitz will pay $10,000 to win and the Krill Recycling, LLC Super Late Models will also be on the card racing for $3000. This event will also be the final points race of the season for both divisions.

Logan Wagner continues to be in full control of the Weikert’s Livestock 410 Sprint Car points battle in search of his fifth consecutive title at the Speedway. Logan’s father, Mike Wagner, sits second in the standings and trails by 150 markers. Jeff Halligan (-300), Dylan Cisney (-745) and Justin Whittall (-915) complete the rest of the top-five.

However, in the Krill Recycling Super Late Model division the battle for the championship is one of the closest battles in recent memory. Colton Flinner currently sits atop the standings by a mere 40-point margin over Gary Stuhler. Chad Myers (-600), Jason Schmidt (-885), and Mike Lupfer (-1095) complete the top-five.

Finally, the three-race weekend ends with the most anticipated event of the year, the Tuscarora 50. The crown-jewel event is the highest paying race on the All Star Circuit of Champions schedule and has been won by the who’s who of drivers over its 55 years of being held.

There will also a full purse paying non-qualifier feature held on Saturday with the winner receiving $2000 and a guaranteed starting spot for next year’s event. Kyle Moody earned the win and spot last season and is already locked into Saturday’s finale as a result. Driver’s not participating in the non-Qualifier event will receive $300 tow money, while those who run the event are guaranteed at least $450.

Last year Logan Wagner picked up his first career Tuscarora 50 title as he held off seven-time event champion, Lance Dewease, in an instant classic that saw Dewease fighting an oil leak and a late-race pass by Wagner.

Outside of the All Star regulars and the Port Royal regulars, several outside drivers such as Rico Abreu, McKenna Haase, Brian Brown, Cory Eliason, Kasey Kahne, Gio Scelzi, Sye Lynch, Aryton Gennetten plan to be in attendance.

Other past winners include Aaron Reutzel, Donny Schatz, Lance Dewease (7), Brent Marks, Greg Hodnett (4-time), Don Kreitz Jr. (3-time), Doug Esh (2-time), Stevie Smith (2-time), Brian Montieth, Mike Erdley, Fred Rahmer (4-time), Keith Kauffman (2-time), Todd Shaffer (3-time), Len Krautheim III, Bobby Allen (2-time), Doug Wolfgang (4-time), Dave Blaney, George Ferguson Jr, Smokey Snellbaker (2-time), Lynn Paxton (3-time), Gary Howsare, Jim Nace, Steve Smith, Kenny Weld and Mitch Smith (3-time).

Various contingency prizes will be handed out throughout the event including lap sponsors, hard charger, fast time and more. New to this season will be a $550 Rookie of the Year Award presented by RV 4 Wheel Drive & Performance Automotive Inc and the highest finishing first-time participant will receive the additional cash on Saturday night.

For information regarding format, contingency prizes and drivers attending, please check out the Port Royal Speedway Trackside Media Facebook page, Twitter and more for more info leading up to race day.

Limited amounts of Reserved seats remain for Saturday’s portion of the Tuscarora 50 and they may be reserved by calling 717-527-2303 between 8am-4pm. Make sure to have your ID with you when picking up reserved seating tickets.

Sunday, September 12th is the advertised rain date for the Tuscarora 50 if needed. Saturday tickets and wristbands can only be used for Sunday and cannot be refunded. Should both days rain out, normal cancellation policies apply. Details are on the website under Information.

Racing will again be available via PPV on FloRacing and more information regarding that can be found at

Thursday Prices/Info: Gates 4pm, Racing at 7pm General Admission- $25 Students- $10 Pits- $35 _____________________ Friday Prices/Info: Gates 4pm, Racing at 7pm General Admission- $30 Students- $15 Pits- $40 ___________________ Saturday Prices/Info: Gates 2pm, Racing 6pm General Admission- $35 Students- $20 Reserved Seating- $40 Pits- $45

60 views0 comments
bottom of page